July 3, 2022



How to Watch the Grand National on TV & Online in 2022

3 min read

This year’s Grand National is on Saturday 9 April, and will be the first time fans have been able to attend in person since 2019. As the most famous steeplechase in the world, the Grand National features 40 horses and riders racing two laps of Liverpool’s Aintree racecourse, which has a total distance of 4 miles and 2.5 furlongs with 30 fences en route.

Back in 2020, the race happened virtually, and wasn’t the first time the Grand National in its standard form has had to be called off, with both WWI and WWII causing a brief hiatus in the otherwise annual event that has been running since 1839.

Last year it went ahead, albeit behind closed doors.

Of course, you want to know how to watch this weekend. The racing is broadcast live in the UK on ITV (and ITV HD), but you can also watch a live stream of the Grand National online at ITV’s website or via its mobile app (for iOS or Android).

Grand National TV schedule 2022

Friday 8 April

  • Coverage from 1.45-5pm BST.

Saturday 9 April

  • Virtual Grand National: 1-2pm
  • Build up: 2-4.30pm
  • Race coverage: 4.30-6.15pm, Grand National start time: 5.15pm

ITV Hub+, which is ITV’s premium subscription streaming service offers an ad-free experience at £3.99 per month, with a seven-day free trial. It also can be viewed from outside the UK in EU countries. Unfortunately this applies only to catch-up and not live broadcasts, which isn’t helpful if you’re wanting to watch the big race live.

An alternative, if you are watching from abroad, is to fool your web browser into thinking you are in the UK by installing a VPN. Our pick of the best is NordVPN.

See also  Riders from all over UK competed at Peckham BMC track in latest rounds of UK National Series

If you are placing a bet on the Grand National, you will also be able to live-stream the race through that bookmaker’s mobile app.

Which horses are running in the 2020 Grand National?

  1. Minella Times Rachael Blackmore
  2. Delta Work Jack Kennedy
  3. Easysland Jonjo O’Neill Jr
  4. Any Second Now Mark Walsh
  5. Run Wild Fred Davy Russell
  6. Lostintranslation Harry Cobden
  7. Brahma Bull Brian Hayes
  8. Burrows Saint Paul Townend
  9. Mount Ida Denis O’Regan
  10. Longhouse Poet Darragh O’Keeffe
  11. Fiddlerontheroof Brendan Powell
  12. Two For Gold David Bass
  13. Santini Nick Scholfield
  14. Samcro Sean Bowen
  15. Escaria Ten Adrian Heskin
  16. Good Boy Bobby Daryl Jacob
  17. Lord Du Mesnil Kielan Woods
  18. Coko Beach Sean Flanagan
  19. De Rasher Counter Adam Wedge
  20. Kildisart James Bowen
  21. Discorama Bryan Cooper
  22. Top Ville Ben Tommy Dowson
  23. Enjoy D’Allen Conor Orr
  24. Anibale Fly Luke Dempsey
  25. Dingo Dollar Ryan Mania
  26. Freewheelin Dylan Ricky Doyle
  27. Class Conti Sam Twiston-Davies
  28. Noble Yeats Sam Waley-Cohen
  29. Mighty Thunder Derek Fox
  30. Cloth Cap Tom Scudamore
  31. Snow Leopardess Aidan Coleman
  32. Agusta Gold Danny Mullins
  33. Phoenix Way Kevin Brogan
  34. Deise Aba Tom O’Brien
  35. Blaklion Harry Skelton
  36. Poker Party Robbie Power
  37. Death Duty Jordan Gainford
  38. Domaine De L’Isle Harry Bannister
  39. Eclair Surf Tom Bellamy
  40. Fortescue Hugh Nugent

The Grand National has been an annual event at Aintree since 1839, save for a brief hiatus between 1916 and 1918 during World War 1, and between 1941 and 1945 during World War 2.

To this day Red Rum is the only horse to have won the Grand National three times, in 1973, 1974 and 1977, with trainer Ginger McCain also going on to successfully lead Amberleigh House to victory in 2004. His son Donald then brought in a fifth win with Ballabriggs in 2011.

See also  Watch the key moments from SpaceX’s spy satellite launch | Digital Trends

Last year’s winner was Minella Times, trained by Henry de Bromhead and ridden by Rachael Blackmore, the first female jockey to win the Grand National. 

In 2019 Tiger Roll won the National for the second year in a row.

Here are the horses who won in the 21st century:

  • 2020: Minella Times
  • 2019: Tiger Roll
  • 2018: Tiger Roll
  • 2017: One For Arthur
  • 2016: Rule The World
  • 2015: Many Clouds
  • 2014: Pineau De Re
  • 2013: Auroras Encore
  • 2012: Neptune Collonges
  • 2011: Ballabriggs
  • 2010: Don’t Push It
  • 2009: Mon Mome
  • 2008: Comply or Die
  • 2007: Silver Birch
  • 2006: Numbersixvalverde
  • 2005: Hedgehunter
  • 2004: Amberleigh House
  • 2003: Monty’s Pass
  • 2002: Bindaree
  • 2001: Red Marauder
  • 2000: Papillon

Here are some of the bookmakers where you can bet on the Grand National  this year: William Hill, Paddy Power, Bet365, Unibet, Ladbrokes, Coral and BetVictor.

Each is paying up to six places on Each Way bets. We advise you to select whichever bookmaker has the highest odds for your horse of choice.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.